and, the award for best patience goes to

If there were an award for person with the best patience, I think every front liner should get at least one when they able to serve for at least a year.

I just recently visited a newly open Auntie Anne’s at Mall Kelapa Gading, and just like an old saying, where the new store open, there goes the line. Well, the line is not as bad as bread talk or chatime when they recently open their stores *even until now I still refuse to get in line for a milk tea, I better go somewhere else*. When I was in line, in front of me is this old aunty, approximately in her late 50 with her friends. While in line and there are still people in front of her, she already walk in front of the display and start asking, when the cashier still helping the current customer. The other staff was busy preparing the dough and stuff, so the cashier has to take order from the current customer and answering to this aunty. Things kept going when she saw the sampler tray, she picked it up, and try one piece * yes,  I know it is what a sampler prepared for* the magic things are, after she took a bite of it, she saw the cheese dip, and dunk the bitten pretzel tester to the sauce.

Mind you, it was not the other end. It is the end when she bit the pretzel that she dipped to it.

After a nice amount of testing the sample, it was only 6 or 7 pcs left on the tray, and after her done with her tasting, it’s only 2 pcs left in the tray. Well played aunty, well played. She then order 2 cheese pretzel and still ask for taste another pretzel. Well, of course, there is no way she will let the cashier work in peace, she kept asking about the price, why it shows IDR 12,000 on the board but she has to pay IDR 19.000 for her, well, the price that she saw is for a plain pretzel and she ordered the premium one. I applaud the cashier for being such a darling for her, and prove why I am not the best cashier. I think I will be able to handle a nagging customer, but the quota might be valid for only 5 customers top.

It bring back memories when I was in Taiwan, and work part time as a customer service for a company that sells product for Indonesians in Taiwan, so they can have the product delivered to their home in Indonesia. It was such a great experiences I am not saying I am the best officer there, but I had some good things to say. I also happen to maintain a social media page for several brands in the past, so I can understand a bit how Indonesian customer act and ask. Sometimes you just want to smack them in the head and ask them to just get a decent education. But, one can only wish for things like that. What you have to do is answer them politely and use the smiling voice all the time. It is easier for me, because I am not faced with them in person, but through a media, whether on a phone or online. It is not a rare occasion when I replied to a comment nicely and curse them in the same time. Sometimes you need to have that kind of release in your job.

Based on my experience, I dare to say that, a front liner should be get more compensation and respect, than what they get today. I am not saying that all front liners are great all the time, there are some stupid customer service officer that should be scolded. But for the best one, it is no doubt they more likely excel because they got the experiences in handling various people with a funky personality.

Leave a Reply

