Tamsui, The North Pier of Taipei!

Tamsui/DanShui(淡水), the north pier of Taipei(台北)

I spent my last Sunday going to Tamsui, it is a location in north of Taipei City, on New Taipei City(新北市). It is like a harbor area, but not the one that busy with freeloading stuff, but with recreational thingy. There’s quite a lot of things that you can do there. from cycling around, buying things, eat something, or just simply sit and enjoying the ocean.

I was waking up quite late, at 10.40AM, and I have nothing to do. So I decided to move my lazy ass to get in the shower and grab a quick lunch in front of my building(Great Meal). After all the preparations are done, now is the time to see the world! I was headed to Taipower Building MRT Station. (台電大樓捷運站). From there I took the Brown Line up north until the last station. 30-45 Minutes later, Voila! I’m here at Tamsui.

It was my second time in Tamsui, the first one was when a group of friends come to Taiwan, and we decided to meet there to see the sunset, but we were to late, and end up eating there. But now is different, since I came by myslef, I can do anything I want. When I arrived what’s on my mind was.

Man, it is HOT!!

So the first thing I did was, go to 7-11 and get some water. After that, I was just walk along the pier, which has a lot of stalls! From food, hat, souvenir, and else! The food itself usually a fried or grilled squid, shrimp and other seafood, but they have a lot of ice cream stall that sell a tall ice cream, the big one was like 30cm, and the small one around 20cm I think. They have a couple flavor such as, chocolate, vanilla, strawberry, and mango, you can also mix the flavor. Since it was really hot I decided to treat myself a big one. I pick Mango Ice Cream (芒果冰) it was so big that it ended up melt a little even before I reach the bottom. It tasted quite ordinary, Not so much mango flavor on it. Well, I couldn’t complaint since it was only 25NTD for the big one. After that Ice Cream, I took a walk alongside the road, which is so far until I reached one of the tourist spot.

Fort San Domingo.

It used to be a representative house I think, but now they turn it into a museum. It show about some England history I think(not really sure what country, but they explain the origin of afternoon tea, so I thought it must be England). I walk around for a bit more (and FYI, it was an uphill walk) and then took off to going back home. During my walk from Fort San Domingo, I took a different path from the one I took when I was going, so I see more shops and restaurants. The heat beats me once again, and I took my second stop on 7-11 for another round of water. When I walk back I crossed the street called Shang Dian Jie(商店街), which translated as ‘Convenient Store Street’. It was a street that full with a lot of shops, souvenir, food, toys, you name it they have it! Took a walk over there, and I decided to go home.

Overall, I think Tamsui offer a lot of things,

They have their store for they who love shopping.

They have resturants for those who love to eat.

They have beaches and nice public chair(actually it’s just a common chair) for those who love the view.

They even have the cycling road(with bicycle to rent).

I am very sure will come back there for more fun experiences.

All pictures are taken with Canon IXUS 240HS

I just love this kinda of road.

I just love this kinda of road.

IMG_0573

This is what they called dancing  shoes!

This is what they called dancing shoes!

This is not Museum Fatahillah

This is not Museum Fatahillah

Nope, this is not at Puncak

Nope, this is not at Puncak

Oh why there are so many steps!

Oh why there are so many steps!

IMG_0554 IMG_0548 IMG_0542 IMG_0537 IMG_0533 IMG_0532

Mr Bear taking a sunbath!

Mr Bear taking a sunbath!

This is it, the tallest Ice Cream I ever had

This is it, the tallest Ice Cream I ever had

IMG_0521 IMG_0519 IMG_0518 IMG_0582

Shang Dian Jie 商店街, translated into Convenient Store Street.

Shang Dian Jie 商店街, translated into Convenient Store Street.

a row of shops!

a row of shops!

Leave a Reply

